CPR Certification

Since the football season has ended I have taken a few months off and now I a obtaining my CPR certification. In order to do this I took a course online and it took about 3 hours. My next blog will really be similar to this one since I will obtain also a First Aid certification. Let me explain what CPR is about.

According to recent statistics sudden cardiac arrest is rapidly becoming the leading cause of death in America. The air we breathe in travels to our lungs where oxygen is picked up by our blood and then pumped by the heart to our tissue and organs. When a person experiences cardiac arrest – whether due to heart failure in adults and the elderly or an injury such as near drowning, electrocution or severe trauma in a child – the heart goes from a normal beat to an arrhythmic pattern called ventricular fibrillation, and eventually ceases to beat altogether. This prevents oxygen from circulating throughout the body, rapidly killing cells and tissue. In essence, Cardio (heart) Pulmonary (lung) Resuscitation (revive) serves as an artificial heartbeat and an artificial respirator. CPR may not save the victim even when performed properly, but if started within 4 minutes of cardiac arrest and defibrillation is provided within 10 minutes, a person has a 40% chance of survival.

Although this is just the basic understanding of CPR it has taught me a lot on the subject. I hope I will be able to save someone’s life someday.

Start Time: 5:00 P.M.

End Time: 8:00 P.M.

Total Time: 3 hours

Leave a Reply

